The bliss that is Audra McDonald

Jun 02

Audra McDonald is just so darn normal – not that outrageous beauty and talent are normal. But the point is, she could be a raging diva if she so chose. And maybe she is offstage (though I doubt it), but onstage, she’s funny, self-deprecating and comfortable, just as you’d expect of a girl from Fresno. McDonald was back in the Bay Area Sunday afternoon...

Read More

Brown’s town

Oct 22

Usually, the sleepy little berg of Santa Rosa belongs to Charlie Brown, the melon-headed lad created by Santa Rosa’s favorite son, Charles M. Schulz. Last Saturday night, Santa Rosa was indeed Brown’s town — Jason Robert Brown’s town. The Broadway composer (a Tony Award-winner for Parade) was in concert for one night only to support a new...

Read More